Print Page

History

The City of Vallejo's story is connected to General Mariano G. Vallejo’s envisioning the promise of the area in 1844. Named after him and twice the site of the state capitol in the 1850s, Vallejo grew into an important shipping and naval center. Legend has it that Mare Island got its name after Gen. Vallejo drove a herd of horses across the Carquinez Strait.

Vallejo served as home to several Native American tribes including the Coastal Miwoks, the Suisunes and other Patwin tribes. There are three confirmed Native American sites located on Sulphur Springs Mountain above Blue Rock Springs Park.

Established in 1854, Mare Island Naval Shipyard was the West Coast's first shipyard. Closed in 1996, Mare Island now stands poised to become an industrial, commercial and residential centerpiece for the city into the next millennium. 

A strong economy and affordable housing has meant new prosperity for Vallejo, as new businesses and new residents come to the city. Some are attracted by the beautifully restored Victorian homes and business fronts; others by the newer homes in the Northgate and Hiddenbrooke developments.

Waterfront and Mare Island redevelopment has become a community effort, with input from residents helping shape the future of what could become the most important economic generator of the city. 

The city's Ferry Terminal and ferry service have served as a model for the rest of the Bay Area, helping make Vallejo a transportation and commuter hub for the North Bay. Six Flags Marine World, restaurants and the Downtown Farmer's Market help make Vallejo the vibrant community it is today.